PDA

View Full Version : what card are you using?



Dragonpurr
February 27th, 2007, 01:32 PM
hey everyone ive been hovering around for the last few days and just now i decided it was time to register :)

so i am asking you guys what card are you gonna use i am useing a 8800gtx :) so witch card are you using ?


for people that dont know: when i say card i mean video card ^^

Agamemnon
February 27th, 2007, 04:55 PM
What does this thread have to do with Halo 2 Vista? :confused2:

Atty
February 27th, 2007, 05:04 PM
x1900GT with plans to upgrade to a mid range 8 Series or 2k Series in due time.

Pred1ator
February 27th, 2007, 05:24 PM
a card? what does h2vista have to do with a stupit card?

BosanskiCarmine
February 27th, 2007, 05:30 PM
He probably means what card are you going to use when you get h2v....
Using a X1600 pro ATM. Will upgrade tho.

Dragonpurr
February 27th, 2007, 06:09 PM
updated first post
:D

Xetsuei
February 27th, 2007, 07:12 PM
eVGA 8800GTX Superclocked

DECOY
February 27th, 2007, 08:57 PM
currently using a pair of Nvidia 7800's

Varmint260
February 27th, 2007, 11:09 PM
Ugh... currently an ATi Radeon 9250 Series PCI card. Paid WAAAY too much for it, but when I get my own notebook, at the VERY LEAST it should have an NVidia GeForce Go 7600. Hopefully better. Something that will make H2V look at least as good as HaloPC and CE do on this 6 year old Dell (damn, my standards are pretty bleeping low, aren't they? lol)

Zeph
February 28th, 2007, 02:03 PM
I am currently using an all in wonder 9800 Pro on my desktop. Once my notebook arrives today, I'll have a 7900GS.

Cortexian
February 28th, 2007, 03:08 PM
I have an am using a BFG 8800 GTX, I Over Clocked it already.

Btw, Hi there Tech Talk forum...

OmegaDragon
February 28th, 2007, 05:11 PM
Currently using a ATI Radeon Xpress 200M in my laptop >.>
Planning to get a new computer with better specs once I have enough money for it and that will either have Vista or its is Vista compatible (preferably with Vista installed) and of course be able to run H2V.

adumass
February 28th, 2007, 05:19 PM
I'm still with agp :( I've got a 7800gs overclocked.

Syuusuke
February 28th, 2007, 09:51 PM
I'm using an ATI Radeon x1600xt
*hides from some PC enthusiasts*

Dragonpurr
February 28th, 2007, 09:53 PM
so only one person here has SLI ?

Atty
March 1st, 2007, 03:28 AM
Two people, actually. Whiplash has a pair of 66/68's iirc and some other kid here has a pair of 78's.

Reaper Man
March 1st, 2007, 03:36 AM
Geforce 7800GT atm. I really want to get my hands on that new Radeon DX10 card.

mR_r0b0to
March 1st, 2007, 05:27 AM
radeon x800gto

:( i plan on getting a mid range dx10 card (8600?/x2600?) when they come out.

someone
March 1st, 2007, 06:30 AM
Integrated Geforce 6100 with 256 mb:(
It can run AERO on Vista perfectly, but I still need a much better one. I plan on getting a mid-range Geforce 8 when they come out.

DaBillyBob
March 1st, 2007, 10:25 AM
7900 Gt

Dragonpurr
March 1st, 2007, 06:18 PM
i wonder if it will be possible to play h2v on a non dx10 card

from my understanding you need a dx10 card to play halo 2 vista

Varmint260
March 1st, 2007, 06:47 PM
From what I've been told, H2Vista will make no use of DirectX 10. So, you can play Halo2Vista on any computer that can run Vista, whether the card is DX10 or not. Someone correct me if I'm wrong :)

This is good, since it's unlikely I can afford a computer with a DX10 card already in it, and it has to be a notebook. lol.

demonmaster3k
March 1st, 2007, 07:04 PM
nvidia geforce gfx5600 ultra
(but have plans to upgrade to an amd athalon 64X2, add another gig of ram, increase my power supply to a 500 or 600 watt, and get a nice dx10 card ... wich will require saving up quite a bit of money)

TheGhost
March 1st, 2007, 10:09 PM
You don't need a DX10 but I'll be using one anyway, the BFG 8800 GTX.

Atty
March 1st, 2007, 11:29 PM
i wonder if it will be possible to play h2v on a non dx10 card

from my understanding you need a dx10 card to play halo 2 vistaYou have a flawed understanding.

Cortexian
March 1st, 2007, 11:58 PM
You don't need a DX10 but I'll be using one anyway, the BFG 8800 GTX.
Me and Ghosty have the same card :) What sticker did you use Ghost? "8800 FTW!"?

Cortexian
March 2nd, 2007, 12:03 AM
Radeon DX10 card? Elaborate
R600.

Mr Buckshot
March 2nd, 2007, 12:59 AM
Geforce 7600 GT (desktop) and Geforce Go 6600 (notebook).

H2V doesn't use DX10 (but supports it), so it'll run flawlessly on DX9 cards.

I plan to get a Geforce 8600 Ultra when it comes out. DX10 won't make one pixel of difference in H2V's graphics, but when Crysis comes out...you know what I mean. And maybe ETQW.

Dragonpurr
March 2nd, 2007, 03:08 AM
we went a little offtopic here but ok......i did dereail it at first but anyway it looks like some of you people are using laptops

im thinking of buying another 8800gtx to do SLI

Dragonpurr
March 3rd, 2007, 04:16 AM
Why don't you just buy yourself a couple of Ferraris too =D

dont i wish :lol::lol:

klange
March 3rd, 2007, 11:21 AM
ATI RADEON All-In-Wonder X800

Shut up... I got it cheap... It's my first reasonably good graphics card...

legionaire45
March 3rd, 2007, 02:19 PM
7600 GT on my main rig, X800 Pro on my secondary, X1600 XT in my mom's macbook pro which I stoled from her. Im saving up for either SLI'd/Crossfire'd midrange DX10 cards or a single high end card from either manufactuer, but most likely nvidia. Every semi-high end ATI card I have ever owned has died in some way xD.

WhLh m
March 3rd, 2007, 04:31 PM
Two 6600 GT's.

Boba
March 3rd, 2007, 06:03 PM
Nvidia Geforce 6600 GTX OC.

Shmee
March 3rd, 2007, 06:39 PM
right now I am using an old BFG 6800GT OC. thing is, its AGP :O

so when i upgrade my comp, it will be major. new proc, new ram, new mobo, and so i will probably get a BFG 8800, either GTS or GTX, depending on how much money i have.

Mr Buckshot
March 3rd, 2007, 08:25 PM
Why don't you just buy yourself a couple of Ferraris too =D

(off topic) Ferraris aren't worth the price. Get a real luxury car, not a very uncomfortable although fast car. Examples are Audi, Lexus, BMW, Maybach, Mercedes - all as expensive as Ferrari or Porsche, but more worth the value. (end off topic)

SLI'ed 8800 GTX's? Lucky ass. You'll be one happy Crysis player, that's all I can say. Don't bomb your electric bill :O

demonmaster3k
March 3rd, 2007, 09:19 PM
i like pny cards the best (or anything with an extra power cable plugin *pulls out a box full of splitters*... i'm really going to need more power for what i have in store for my little computer)

Dragonpurr
March 3rd, 2007, 10:09 PM
my 8800gtx just failed or something im trying to fix it

Galap
March 4th, 2007, 04:56 PM
my card is certainly WAAAAAY to shitty to use for vista. i have an NVIDIA GeForce 4 MX 440 AGP 8x

it has 64mb DDR.

Mr Buckshot
March 4th, 2007, 05:45 PM
Actually, Galap, your card is too shitty for the Aero Glass interface, that's all. Aero Glass allows you to see the whole desktop in real-time 3D.

You'll just run Windows Vista in a "classic" scheme that resembles Windows XP with different colors, but includes all the features like the folder explorer in the start menu and all that stuff.

Hotrod
March 4th, 2007, 06:33 PM
I have a Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO with 256 video memory. Would it be able to run Halo 2 Vista?

Cortexian
March 4th, 2007, 07:47 PM
I have a Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO with 256 video memory. Would it be able to run Halo 2 Vista?
Yes, but not very well. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad card, it's mid-range.

@The person with the AIW X800:

The ATI All-In-Wonder X800 cards are great, you can OC them to run faster then the X1600's.

Dragonpurr
March 5th, 2007, 01:20 AM
i prefer nvidia over ATI :/

Atty
March 5th, 2007, 01:26 AM
Why don't you just buy yourself a couple of Ferraris too =DBecause buying a ferarri wouldn't be a worthy lie to make himself look cool on a gaming forum.

i prefer nvidia over ATI :/I prefer performance/cost/needs.


I have a Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO with 256 video memory. Would it be able to run Halo 2 Vista?Can it run Aero?

Timo
March 5th, 2007, 01:30 AM
A 7600GS, I'll probably have to upgrade soon.

Mr Buckshot
March 5th, 2007, 01:34 AM
I have a Sapphire Radeon 9800 PRO with 256 video memory. Would it be able to run Halo 2 Vista?

It'll run Aero Glass reasonably well, so it should run H2V, unless Bungie springs a surprise and completely revamps the graphics.

H2V's graphics won't offer that much improvement over the Xbox's, other than higher resolutions (up to 1920x1200), better textures, and maybe better lighting. From the looks of it, you won't need a super computer to run H2V at high settings (you WILL need one to run Crysis on high though). If you can run the latest PC games well, you should do fine with H2V.

Cortexian
March 5th, 2007, 09:10 AM
Bungie should spring the "Halo 3, now PC exclusive" surprise".

Dragonpurr
March 5th, 2007, 02:12 PM
Bungie should spring the "Halo 3, now PC exclusive" surprise".

thatd make me happy mader

Hotrod
March 5th, 2007, 05:09 PM
Ok, well thank you for all the help.

Atty
March 6th, 2007, 08:00 AM
thatd make me happy maderWhat?

soloblast
March 6th, 2007, 09:14 AM
Which card I'm using? 6200 Nvidia with Turbocache. Runs Halo at 1024x768 well enough (if you can call 25-30fps normally 'well enough'), but Company of Heroes...? Let's just say "turn everything to low and pray".

Cortexian
March 6th, 2007, 10:57 AM
Which card I'm using? 6200 Nvidia with Turbocache. Runs Halo at 1024x768 well enough (if you can call 25-30fps normally 'well enough'), but Company of Heroes...? Let's just say "turn everything to low and pray".

Eww, halo at anything under 60 FPS Average should = death. I play at 1280x1024 or w/e halo's highest resolution is with the settings maxed out and get 400 FPS average...

Dragonpurr
March 6th, 2007, 10:34 PM
What?



PM me about that......i dont think i should bring it to this forum/thread:D

Caboos001
March 8th, 2007, 02:01 PM
You must all tremble in fear of my



BUM! BUM! TACOSSSS!!!

:ohsnap:

GeFroce FX 5500!!!

I will see you all on the H2V battlefield! :v

Xetsuei
March 10th, 2007, 02:28 AM
Eww, halo at anything under 60 FPS Average should = death. I play at 1280x1024 or w/e halo's highest resolution is with the settings maxed out and get 400 FPS average...

1920x1080 everything maxed 400fps. :)

Varmint260
March 10th, 2007, 02:43 AM
Runs Halo at 1024x768 well enough (if you can call 25-30fps normally 'well enough')

Ahem... with my Radeon 9250, runs Halo at 640X480 with an average 15 to 20 FPS. Man, I get worse than average FPS in most games. Why do people complain when they get under 60FPS if I'm happy to get anythin' over 12FPS? GAH!

Metkil5685
March 10th, 2007, 03:04 PM
ATi Radeon 9200 - 128 MB Video RAM

Halo @ 1024 x 768 with about 40 FPS. With all Settings Maxed.
Desktop @ 1248 x 1024

I pwn all with it. <_<

Cortexian
March 10th, 2007, 03:06 PM
I pwn you with it. As in literally pwning, like, with a pawn. I'm going to shutup now >.<

Metkil5685
March 10th, 2007, 04:07 PM
Yea, that might be a good idea. I do need to get a new one though.

TPE
March 11th, 2007, 09:58 PM
evga geforce 6200

i wont upgrade till i see how different cards run on H2V

i run halo at 800X600 -useff with all up on high. 100 FPS on timberland pwns

on CE i play 800X600 with all on exept shadows at about 30 FPS on fragment

InnerGoat
March 11th, 2007, 10:49 PM
7900GT in the main pc and 6800GT in the second pc. Both overclocked a good deal. :)
Both play 1680x1050 great, but the 7900GT can do 2304x1440 and still have room for more. H2v is not a problem for me so I won't be upgrading for a bit.

Cortexian
March 11th, 2007, 10:53 PM
7900GT in the main pc and 6800GT in the second pc. Both overclocked a good deal. :)
Both play 1680x1050 great, but the 7900GT can do 2304x1440 and still have room for more. H2v is not a problem for me so I won't be upgrading for a bit.
It will be a problem when you try and run it at 1680x1050.

InnerGoat
March 12th, 2007, 03:08 PM
I allready know the 6800GT has trouble with it. It wasn't flawless with Halo CE either. :eyesroll:

Dragonpurr
March 12th, 2007, 03:12 PM
my frend has a 6800ultra and he gets 78fps on ce maxed settings

[MT]Slayer
March 13th, 2007, 12:05 AM
i have an ATI Radeon 9250 PCI Bus 256 MB (kinda sux, shader model 1.1)


i'm hoping to get a Visiontek ATI Radeon X1300 PCI bus 256 MB (this is the card PCI bus ppl want, shader model 3.0, Avivo tech, 90 nanometer blah blah, etc.) does anyone have one?

Dragonpurr
March 13th, 2007, 12:16 AM
ill PM you

Xetsuei
March 13th, 2007, 10:26 AM
I just used my bro's comp with a 7600GS on halo ce max settings 1920x1080 and got a steady 60fps.

Mr Buckshot
March 14th, 2007, 12:19 AM
Geforce 7600 GT: 1680x1050 if I run the hack, 1440x1050 without it, 100 fps on max settings on PC, no lower than 70-ish on custom CE maps

Geforce Go 6600: 1280x800 (hack), 60-90-ish fps I think. Not that high but more than enough, on full settings with specular and vsync off.

Snowy
March 14th, 2007, 12:21 AM
I'm using a 3dfx Voodoo 4 :)

Mr Buckshot
March 14th, 2007, 01:38 AM
Run Doom 3 on it. Doom 3 ran at 800x600 with 30-60 fps on a Voodoo 2 (joined with a 2.5Ghz p4, 256 MB RAM, and windows 98)

[MT]Slayer
March 14th, 2007, 09:47 PM
same here, ATI Radeon 9250 PCI Bus 256 MB, currently looking for Visiontek ATI Radeon X1300 PCI bus 256 MB (cuz its got mean shader models 3.0 and i need to know the version of DirectX __???) cuz at Gamespot they said requirements for h2 vista are: 2 GHz CPU, Direct X9 gfx card, 1 GB of RAM, and Windows Vista (durhh....)

so its looking bright for most of you ppl with new computers and graphics cards and upgrades for your computers...

Rob Oplawar
March 17th, 2007, 01:38 PM
Hm, I'm surprised that you guys' 7600s seem to only handle lower resolutions, cause I have a 7600 GT and it runs Half Life 2 ep 1 at 1920x1200 with the settings maxed out at a good 55 fps. Although my cooling is terrible and it keeps overheating, throwing vertices all over the place =/
But that's because the XPS only comes with one fan! wtf? I'll be adding another fan in a week or so, and that should help.

Edit: D'oh! I dyslexic not am! 9 looks like 6... I have a 7900 GS. That might explain it. lol, don't even know what my puter's running...

flibitijibibo
March 17th, 2007, 06:30 PM
Nvidia GeForce 7950 GX2, hopefully enough for H2V =D.

Dragonpurr
March 17th, 2007, 10:46 PM
Nvidia GeForce 7950 GX2, hopefully enough for H2V =D.

i belive so

InnerGoat
March 17th, 2007, 11:28 PM
Its more then enough, trust me.

Also, my 7900gt died and is going back for RMA. I've been using a 9800pro now. :-3

Cortexian
March 17th, 2007, 11:45 PM
I have a better idea, get a PCI-E Bus.

InnerGoat
March 18th, 2007, 10:39 AM
Hint: 7900GT only comes in PCIe, so thats means I have it. 9800pro only came in AGP. The 9800pro is in the system the 7900gt was just in.

Sunray
March 18th, 2007, 10:44 AM
Ah. the 9800pro... It can still handle everything I throw at it to a medium - high graphics setting. Good enough for everything I do. I would think it would be the low end for H2V though...