PDA

View Full Version : 3ds Max Tricks

Dwood
October 7th, 2008, 02:09 PM
Okay, so here I am, trying to model something and then I hear something about my method taking too long (meshing, I call it). The person tells me that in max, poly is much better than mesh.

Before I never was able to tell the difference and so I learn that the main difference between the two is hot-key placement. Then that person tells me to create a plane, convert to poly, select faces, move tool, and shift + drag that face. It never occurred to me that I could do that!

Are there any other tricks in 3ds that you have learned which took you ages to learn and then when you learned them like the shift + drag for me you went "whoa wish I knew that 4 weeks ago!" ?

MetKiller Joe
October 7th, 2008, 02:35 PM
I am not an expert by any means in 3DS Max, but I believe that some people like editable poly more than editable mesh (which I presume is what you are converting it to) because of the number of tools available to you in editable poly.

Correct me if I am wrong, but one of the drawbacks of using E.P. is that UVW mapping gets reset if you edit the geometry (exception: using the move/scale gizmos [and again, maybe more; I am not completely fluent in Max]). This is avoided through using E.M.

Anton
October 7th, 2008, 02:52 PM
There is a preserve UV's button. I've never had my UVW's to reset regardless of using EM, or EP.

MMFSdjw
October 7th, 2008, 02:53 PM
Uvmapping does not reset when editing geometry.
Poly is a newer way of editing. Mesh still has some uses but they are few.
The hot-keys are different. And, it's also not possible to assign the functions that are common between them to the same key. So insert vertex in EM must use a different key than insert vertex in EP. Because really, noone likes consistency.

There really are hundreds of little time saving things in max. often 3 or 4 different things that perform the same function.