PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with a Creative Audigy 2 and Vista/W7?

jcap
September 29th, 2009, 12:03 PM
I have a Creative Audigy 2 ZS that I've been using for about the past 5 years. When I switched to Vista a few years ago, Creative could not make a stable driver for their lives. For a little over two years now, I've been using the DanielK hacked drivers which are very stable and feature-complete. However, it is missing one thing...

Unfortunately, the hacked driver I am using does not have support for the Dolby 5.1 decoder. I read on another forum that Creative actually added this as a feature some months ago. However, the last time I downloaded a driver from creative (on Vista 64-bit), the Trillian sign on/off sounds were garbled and it sounded like when you plug a video output into an audio input (analog).

If anyone has any experience with the any recent drivers (download most recent at http://support.creative.com/Products/ProductDetails.aspx?catID=1&subCatID=205&prodID=4915&prodName=Audigy%202%20ZS&subCatName=Audigy&CatName=Sound+Blaster ), please comment.

=sw=warlord
September 29th, 2009, 12:07 PM
I just use windows update for getting my drivers once ive installed vista, for some reason microsoft has drivers for the soundcard and yet creative don't.

flibitijibibo
September 29th, 2009, 12:30 PM
Do you mean DDL? It should be a separate installation (and it costs money, the fucks):
http://buy.soundblaster.com/_creativelabsstore/cgi-bin/pd.cgi?frompage=category&page=product_detail&fromcategory=Software&category=Software&pid=F2222SR6PAKH5DGY6SD

I think DanielK modded the DDL pack too, so you may not have to mess with that. I will say though, the X-Fi DDL (from Creative) kind of sucks, the optical channel randomly dies every couple of days. I dunno how Audigy's is.

jcap
September 29th, 2009, 03:24 PM
I want to decode a Dolby Digital 5.1 signal. The DDL software sounds as if it is only for encoding.

Also, this is what I'm looking for: