PDA

View Full Version : Writing Stories Which Don't Suck (Part 1 of 2: Cutting the Crap)

English Mobster
January 9th, 2010, 03:30 PM
Everyone loves a good story; but not everyone is good at writing them.

I'm a bit of a writer myself, I've been doing more writing as of late than I have modeling. Writing is a fine art, and, like most art, it takes practice.
You may write a story and think that it sucks. It probably does suck. But, since most of you can model, think of the first thing you EVER modeled. Didn't it suck, too? But, with practice, you got better. You stopped sucking so badly.
The same holds true for writing.

With writing, practice makes perfect, and even with lots of practice, stuff you write may still suck (a lot of the things I write suck, even). Ernest Hemingway even once said to F. Scott Fitzgerald, "I write one page of masterpiece to ninety one pages of shit. I try to put the shit in the wastebasket."
The trick to any writing is re-writing. The first draft I write is normally absolute SHIT, for example, here's a piece (which makes absolutely no sense out of context) where I haven't altered it in the slightest from when I first wrote it down:

Church in the colony was held at the gates which formerly guarded the single access road. As it now served as the entrance to the colony, all entrants to the colony were forced to be turned away when church was in progress.
Candles lit up the entire area, and Flyboy saw that an altar had been set up at the entrance to the gate itself.
Things were flying from place to place, the smell of burning objects filled the air, and, overall, no one had any idea what was going on. The only thing which people seemed to know was that they thought God was a pretty cool guy; he saved them and doesn’t afraid of anything.
The entire church service was confusing. Even if you knew what was going on, you'd still be very confused.