PDA

View Full Version : A few editing questions

That_Guy28
February 1st, 2010, 12:49 PM
I'm new to making maps for Halo 2 and I have some questions. I suck at it but it is fun to make maps. I am really good at 3DS Max though.

How do I make lights? I need to what directory the lights are in so I can open it with Sapien.

How do I make my own textures? I want to make grass and rocky textures. Can I download grass textures anywhere?

How do I get water on my map?

I know that the one about textures is probably the most complicated of the three questions but I would like to know this stuff so I can make better maps!

Vicky
February 1st, 2010, 05:27 PM
There are several ways to make light, apart from rendering the map. What light do you want?

For making water do a search on this forum, should be several topics about it.

Resinball
February 1st, 2010, 06:59 PM
Regarding the water, I out something together here: http://eadesigns.tech.officelive.com/Documents/H2V_Water.zip

And about the textures, check out this site http://www.cgtextures.com/, its a good one, but you can only download so much per day. You will also need to read a tutorial on seamless tiling images. Tiling is what allows you to reuse an image over and over next to itself without it looking like crap.

For lighting, check out the help file that comes with the H2EK, good luck and welcome.

That_Guy28
February 1st, 2010, 07:38 PM
In the readme file it says: "Go into your maps .scenario_structure_bsp and add water definitions at the bottom. You can get these values from other maps, by viewing them with Entity for example (for H2 XBox maps) and maybe Gravemind (for H2V maps). The one I am looking at is 18MBs BTW."

What does it mean by "Go into your maps .scenario_structure_bsp and add water definitions"? I know where the .scenario_structure_bsp file is but I can't quite figure out what it means.

I was able to come up with my own way to get the custom textures to work and it looks great. :downs: