PDA

View Full Version : General Questions about using the Halo 1 Engine and Creating Maps

KWDzero
June 27th, 2010, 03:30 PM
Hello, I am an aspiring environment artist/level designer for games and I am interested in creating Maps using the Halo 1 engine. I have attempted this in the past and I don't really seem to have much trouble dealing with engine specific programs like Guerilla and Sapien.

Where my problems occur mostly is during the model making itself while using 3DS Max. I am a little confused on how to do certain things, and since most of you here are fairly good at map making using this engine I was hoping some of you could shed some light on these issues and questions.

1. How do you work within the program? In several online tutorials, they have flipped the normals of a cube to start off the map but I sometimes find this makes things harder to work with. If someone has a speed video of making a map from the ground up, or instructions on how to do so using newer versions of 3DS MAX that would be very helpful.

2. When creating buildings or bases on a map, do you mostly rely on extruding and cutting faces from the main map, or creating separate objects and merging them with the main map?

3. When working with materials, how do you use external images other than ones already in the Halo Custom edition folder?

Those are some of my questions, but my major questions are 1 and 2. Thanks for reading and I appreciate your help!

-Zero

Ro0ster
June 27th, 2010, 04:38 PM
1.I can't really explain how to use the program in a post, but you don't have to use a cube. There are many different types of modeling techniques. For example, I prefer to use planes and select edges then hold shirt and drag out a new edge.
2.You don't have to but you can. As I said before there are many different techniques. You might want to look up tutorials on modeling in general on google.