PDA

View Full Version : Prop 19 - Legalize, regulate, and tax marijuana in california

t3h m00kz
October 23rd, 2010, 02:58 AM
Wow, no thread on this yet?

I'm kind of new to this whole great debate stuff as I tend to avoid it for the most part..

Proposition 19, also known as the Regulate, Control and Tax Cannabis Act of 2010, is a California ballot proposition which will be on the November 2, 2010 California statewide ballot. It legalizes various marijuana-related activities, allows local governments to regulate these activities, permits local governments to impose and collect marijuana-related fees and taxes, and authorizes various criminal and civil penalties.[1] In March 2010, it qualified to be on the November statewide ballot.[2] It requires a simple majority in order to pass, and would take effect the day after the election.[3] Yes on 19 is the official advocacy group for the initiative, and No On Proposition 19 is the official opposition group.[4]
Proponents of Proposition 19 argue that it would help with California's budget shortfall, cut off funding to violent drug cartels, and redirect law enforcement resources to more dangerous crime,[5] while opponents claim that its gaps and flaws will have serious unintended consequences on public safety, workplaces, and federal funding.[6] As of October 2010, even if the proposition is passed, the sale of marijuana will remain illegal under federal law via the Controlled Substances Act.[7][8][9]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Proposition_19_(2010)

Discuss.

I think this would be great. I'm not a pot head in the slightest, only tried the shit once. The stuff is so much less dangerous than most legal substances out there today (Alchohol, tobacco, etc), and the crop itself is very useful and has tons of benefits. I'd imagine his passing would lead to things like hemp products being used, such as hemp paper and hemp rope, which as far as I know are much better for the environment.

paladin