PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone!

WaeV
March 17th, 2011, 04:11 PM
Hi, the name's WaeV. I'm a second-year Computer Science student at RIT, Eagle Scout, white male from the glorious state of Maine.

I first started modding Halo right around the time that HMT and HHT were just being released. I used to be a member of HaloMods, but I became a ModHalo.net regular around the end of 2009, and I've pretty much been there ever since.

The only good mod I've released is called Valkrieg (http://www.modhalo.net/index.php?/topic/23655-valkrieg/page__pid__211897#entry211897), and it involves extensive use of the "flashlight trigger" I wrote a tutorial on over at MH. I've started plenty of mods, though. (Who hasn't?)

My current Halo project is less mod-related and more program-related. I started implementing Modzy's Open Halo Parser in Python to get a feel for the mapfile, but now I've moved to C++. I've already implemented memory-mapping of the file for an extra edge in file I/O.

Oh, and despite my 6-7 years of modding Halo, I've never actually used the HEK to do anything. =P I should probably get around to that, as I've finally gotten Sapien working on my PC. We'll see though. This programming project is eating up more of my time and interest.

So yeah. Hi.

Rainbow Dash
March 17th, 2011, 04:19 PM
hi

Donut
March 17th, 2011, 04:21 PM
hey cool, im going to RIT with a game design major next year :iamafag:

ThePlague
March 17th, 2011, 04:35 PM
Sup.

Hotrod
March 17th, 2011, 07:10 PM
Computer Science, eh? I was in CompSci last semester, but then I ended up hating it. So now I'm in finance :) Anyway, good to see new members here that seem to be mature and respectful, so welcome to the forums!

WaeV
March 17th, 2011, 07:44 PM
Haha, thanks everyone.

This forum seems to be more CE-oriented than PC, is that right? Do you guys use tools like Eschaton, or is it all HEK here?

Donut
March 17th, 2011, 08:19 PM
all HEK as far as i know

Ifafudafi
March 17th, 2011, 08:23 PM