PDA

View Full Version : So how about my Neutrinos traveling faster than light

Patrickssj6
September 22nd, 2011, 03:49 PM
http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/09/22/us-science-light-idUSTRE78L4FH20110922

{XG}Gijs007
September 22nd, 2011, 04:02 PM
Yea I just saw this, I wonder when faster then light travel will be possible ;)

ejburke
September 22nd, 2011, 04:09 PM
It has to be an error or some other phenomenon at work. I'm sure they didn't pump in the infinite amount of energy required to accelerate that particle to the speed of light and then an infinite amount more to push it beyond.

I used to like hearing stories about this kind of stuff. Then I studied the science and realized that it's never going to happen. The implications of an object appearing outside of its light cone are enormous and paradoxical.

NullZero
September 22nd, 2011, 04:16 PM
If not down to miscalculations:

mind = blown

Patrickssj6
September 22nd, 2011, 04:45 PM
I used to like hearing stories about this kind of stuff. Then I studied the science and realized that it's never going to happen.
You base your science on what humanity knows. Have you ever wondered why a dog cannot grasp the simplest concept, who says that humans are capable of understanding everything. Just an interesting thought :P

If this wasn't for CERN (and its thorough research) I wouldn't even bother to post.

ejburke
September 22nd, 2011, 05:05 PM