PDA

View Full Version : Badminton

HDoan
March 25th, 2008, 12:51 AM
I'm not sure if this is the right topic or not but here goes nothing. I was wondering if you guys could watch a recording of me playing badminton, I'm a beginner and I have received excellent help from this guy who lead me here. Here is a link to the video: http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=ij1DIvyPUec&feature=inbox

I think my smashes are pretty good but they could still use a lot of work (And a lot more aiming :cool:). Also my footwork also needs a lot of work which I'm working on. Please help me because tryouts for the badminton team is coming up next Monday and I want to fix my mistakes before then. I am also going to the leisure center on Saturday to practice more and try new things (As in more footwork, using my adomin more, and jumping higher) so I can record things I've worked on there. Thank you for your time.
(Also please don't call me a panzey or say that badminton sucks)

Con
March 25th, 2008, 01:08 AM
Try to hit your smashes with a more overhead outstretched arm to hit the birdie down over the net rather than making it fly straight out where he can easily hit it back. Make sure to return back to the center of the court as fast as possible each time you hit it over, because you don't wanna be running all over the place in a hurry when he hits it back. Also, when you're close to the net and hit a short one over, it's pretty obvious he's going to want to hit it far back to make you run, so start right away.

HDoan
March 25th, 2008, 01:10 AM
Yeah I was really rusty after a year, a year can do wonders to your foot work (Not), anyways thanks for the reply.

Pope
March 25th, 2008, 01:21 AM
Your footwork really seems your weakest point. Think of the badminton court separated into 4 parts for each of the corners. Stand in the middle and try to take no more than 3 steps into either direction. That is the most optimal way to hit the bird around.