PDA

View Full Version : "Termites ate my life savings"

Emmzee
April 7th, 2008, 07:01 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7334033.stm?hungry

A trader in the Indian state of Bihar has lost his life savings after termites infesting his bank's safe deposit boxes ate them up.

Dwarika Prasad had deposited currency notes and investment papers worth hundreds of thousands of rupees in a bank safe in the state capital Patna.

The bank says it put up a notice warning customers of the termites.

Mr Prasad says he did not see it in time as he did not go to the bank for months after the notice went up.

Bank officials admit they did not inform the customers individually about the termite problem.

I'm no expert, but if you're handling valuable things that can be eaten by termites, you should probably invest in an exterminator.

Pooky
April 7th, 2008, 07:03 PM
'rupees'?

Emmzee
April 7th, 2008, 07:05 PM
'rupees'?
Rupees (रू) are the currency in India. रू100,000 = $2504 USD.

Amit
April 7th, 2008, 07:05 PM
'rupees'?

The currency from India/Legend of Zelda?

Con
April 7th, 2008, 07:08 PM
heh, how unlucky is that?

Phopojijo
April 7th, 2008, 07:10 PM
I think the big issue is:

If you're a bank... albeit -- true -- not a Western nation... but even still.

If you have termite problems... you might want to protect your customers by moving valuables off site.

That's the reason for a *safe* deposit box.

Btw -- how did the termites get IN to the safe deposit box? They're usually metal. And I somehow doubt it was climate controlled.

Amit
April 7th, 2008, 07:11 PM
heh, how unlucky is that?

That's one bullshit day. Also, that guy's name is scarily close to my dad's. For security reasons I will not say his name.

Pooky
April 7th, 2008, 07:12 PM
Guys my first name is Andrew please don't come to my house :saddowns:

Amit
April 7th, 2008, 07:17 PM
Guys my first name is Andrew please don't come to my house :saddowns: