PDA

View Full Version : "GTFO lagger, you're making the server lag!"

Syuusuke
February 9th, 2007, 09:41 PM
A true story...

Once a upon a time, in Yoyorast Island, Diesel's III server, some guy was telling some other guy to leave because he was lagging the server up.

I tell him, "A person lagging does not lag the server up, rather it only lags himself up."

He tells me that players with ping of >200 lags the server up...then continues to tell me that I have no knowledge of Halo...great. Then I continue to ask if he sees players warping, because if so, then that client must be downloading some pr0n. He tells me no one is warping and again say that I know nothing of Halo. Of course I don't.

My question is this: If a player is lagging, does it lag the server up, besides the warping.

InnerGoat
February 9th, 2007, 10:17 PM
Uh, yes. only that player would warp though.. at least for me.

Pooky
February 9th, 2007, 10:37 PM
When there's a laggy guy in the server for me it usually only lags me if I'm in the lagger's immediate vicinity

DaneO'Roo
February 9th, 2007, 11:12 PM
Not true.

it's not believe me I fucking know. I may warp to you, but my whole screen warps, to the point where I don't know where I am. But I'm not lagging the server. Only myself.

mech
February 9th, 2007, 11:37 PM
Err it lags the server...

Because I use to crash servers by spiking my ping up with some friends, yea we were assholes that thought it was funny.

WhÎþLå§h ÐÆmØÑ
February 10th, 2007, 12:47 AM
Yeah, with Halo's netcode, it doesn't effect only the client (like in Halo 2).

Syuusuke
February 10th, 2007, 08:08 AM
My old dial up ping was 200-400 =S

It sort of doesn't make sense, but then again if you apply some logic it does make sense...oh well

Limited
February 10th, 2007, 08:30 AM
I was owning in one of the only european servers (its bg 24/7) some dude came in, I owned him he was like "YEAH well i have 169 ping and you have 69 ping".