+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: [WIP]New Mombasa "Sector 7" Training Facility.

[WIP]New Mombasa "Sector 7" Training Facility.

Also known as My Last CGI Scene in the Halo Universe Until Further Notice

Well, this is it ladies and gent's. For those of you who didn't know me on Halomods, I've been involved in the Halo community since 2004. I've been doing CGI renders of the series for the past 5 years, and this time is drawing to a close. I've been talking with many friends recently, and they all agree that by sticking so closely to Halo, my creative talents are being greatly inhibited. Therefore, this topic is for the last scene I will make in the universe of Halo for a long time, possibly ever.

The environment I am creating for this piece is a fictional UNSC training outpost in New Mombasa, known as "Sector 7." The name is an homage to Bungie, and you will see many tributes to prominent members and friends in this piece.

I am designing the environment as though I was designing a level for Halo CE, which is a considerable challenge for me, seeing as I never got into mapping, so I hope more experienced level designers can give me tips. The layout is moderately complex, but allows for good z-axis fighting. The area you see below is the WIP of the main roadway, which connects what will become the two "bases." Each base will be situated in a combat simulation room, and each will depict a different manufactured simulation of a real world combat situation.

I have very little to show right now; just this render of my current "sketch model."

I apologize for having such a shitty model right now, but I'm using this very low res base model to perfect the layout before I go in and model the high res assets.

Progress will be in this thread and this thread alone, and I'm hoping all of you will support me through this one, and give me tips and criticism on how to make this piece a memorable one.