Page 3 of 56 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 53 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 557

Thread: OpenSauce Halo CE SDK Update #2 (RC)

  1. #21
    Kid in the Hall Kornman00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ◕‿◕, ┌( ಠ_ಠ)┘
    Posts
    3,130

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    EDIT: Np ARKa. If you have any questions, please compile them into a list and I will try to address them here or in the documentation which I'm continuing to working on
    ______
    Just want to acknowledge the fact that I know the documentation is lacking in RC1. Like I said, this RC is targeted towards developers who will actually be getting involved with the source code. I didn't want to hold back the release just to work on documentation.


    To briefly explain how Yelo's safety checks work so that nothing non-Haloce loads it, you'll need to reference Main.cpp

    Code:
                if ( strstr(name,PLATFORM_VALUE("haloce","haloceded")) == NULL )
                {
    #if PLATFORM_IS_USER && defined(DX_WRAPPER)
                    sprintf_s(warning,
                        "An application (%s) tried to run Yelo (Open Sauce) which is a plugin that is only compatible with Halo (CE) v1.08. \n"
                        "The plugin's interface to DirectX 9 will continue to run, but note that this is a kludge."
                        "\n\n"
                        "If you don't wish to see this message anymore, then remove this file to uninstall the plugin: \n"
                        "%s\\d3d9.dll",
                        name, dir);
    #elif PLATFORM_IS_DEDI
                    sprintf_s(warning,
                        "An application (%s) tried to run Yelo (Open Sauce) which is a plugin that is only compatible with Halo Dedi (CE) v1.08. \n"
                        "Plugin will not be loaded, this is just warning.",
                        name);
    #endif
    If "haloce" (or "haloceded" for Dedi builds) do not appear in the application's (which loaded the module) name, then this will cause the above error to spawn. Take note that it will explicitly tell you the name of the exe in question.

    Code:
    else if(IsVersionInfoValid())
                {
                    return  _main_globals.enabled = true;
                }
    Checks to make sure the game exe's version is 1.08.616. If not, performs the following:

    Code:
    else
                {
    #if PLATFORM_IS_USER && defined(DX_WRAPPER)
                    sprintf_s(warning,
                        "Yelo (Open Sauce) is a plugin that is only compatible with Halo (CE) v1.08.  Your version is incompatible."
                        "\n\n"
                        "If you wish to use Yelo, you must update by running this file: \n"
                        "%s\\haloupdate.exe"
                        "\n\n"
                        "If you don't wish to use Yelo, then remove this file to uninstall it: \n"
                        "%s\\d3d9.dll",
                        dir, dir);
    #elif PLATFORM_IS_DEDI
                    sprintf_s(warning,
                        "Yelo (Open Sauce) is a plugin that is only compatible with Halo Dedi (CE) v1.08.  Your version is incompatible."
                        "\n\n"
                        "If you wish to use Yelo, you must update by your haloded.exe file"
                        );
    #endif
                }
    You'll see this if, for example, sapien tried to load the module thinking it was the real DX dll that Microsoft created.
    Last edited by Kornman00; August 25th, 2009 at 10:41 PM.

  2. #22
    HA10 Limited's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,800

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    Fantastic stuff Kornman, again you amaze us all with your knowledge

    Going to play with it tomorrow as I'm going to sleep now. Might start work implementing the stuff skyline and I have made from v1.

    Outstanding work.

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    I just started C++ so lots of that stuff means nothing to me. But I'm going to be doing a C++ class in highschool.

  4. #24
    Taiko Drums = Win
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Longbranch, WA
    Posts
    2,692

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    I opened it and got really confused because its a whole bunch of coding files but then I realized... im not a coder, so I can't enjoy it to it's full potential.

    Thanks korn, you've given us a great gift.

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    21

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    I'm no coder, but if we use the d3d9.dll that you've hosted and we put it in the halo folder and start up the game... yelo batter would work and the hud wouldn't be stretched? I realize the sdk is good for coders, but I read "battery" and though about it.

  6. #26
    Kid in the Hall Kornman00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ◕‿◕, ┌( ಠ_ಠ)┘
    Posts
    3,130

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    Quote Originally Posted by Limited View Post
    Fantastic stuff Kornman, again you amaze us all with your knowledge

    Going to play with it tomorrow as I'm going to sleep now. Might start work implementing the stuff skyline and I have made from v1.

    Outstanding work.
    Thanks, if you guys have any questions in reguards to porting your works to the new Update 2 SDK, just post them and I'll try addressing them as soon as possible

    Quote Originally Posted by ARKaMAN View Post
    I just started C++ so lots of that stuff means nothing to me. But I'm going to be doing a C++ class in highschool.
    All in good time. Definitly wouldn't recommend this project as a means of learning anything about C++. If anything, it's more of a basis of using C++ to create fancy "hacks" to manipulate black box software. "Advance" stuff, but have fun with C++ in school and hope you can use the knowledge to come up with something

    Quote Originally Posted by FRain View Post
    I opened it and got really confused because its a whole bunch of coding files but then I realized... im not a coder, so I can't enjoy it to it's full potential.

    Thanks korn, you've given us a great gift.
    Thanks, it's always been about providing for the community. As a tool maker, you guys are my target audience and I must heed to your whims however small or big they be. While true the SDK is more so for programmers, I tried to also supply utilities for map makers in general. For now, thats only really apparent with the upgrades made to the HEK in terms of memory limits and globals tag overriding (a feature I'm really thankful to be able to provide). There are some other things which I have laying around which would suite the just-map-makers, but I'm not quite savvy with their current state yet (not much in ways of a GUI front-end for most of them).

    The SDK raises the bar a mod team can reach to, assuming they can bring aboard a programmer. With a programmer they can implement new gameplay mechanics and provide their designers with new scripting functions and globals to take advantage of. I just wish I had more time to plan ahead for the version conflict potentials with multiple Yelo code releases. Well, would be nice to have more time, or more seasoned help, in general lol.

    EDIT:
    Quote Originally Posted by boogerlad View Post
    I'm no coder, but if we use the d3d9.dll that you've hosted and we put it in the halo folder and start up the game... yelo batter would work and the hud wouldn't be stretched? I realize the sdk is good for coders, but I read "battery" and though about it.
    If you put it in your game directory, yes, some of the features from Yelo - Battery will be there (in-game menu, press F7). I was able to keep HUD Ratio and HUD enable/disable in, but the other HUD options conflicted with hud-chat logging and I didn't have enough time to implement a new chat logging system to work with Battery's old HUD message options. However, I did leave in the code to loading\saving those options just in case they return...
    Last edited by Kornman00; August 26th, 2009 at 12:17 AM.

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    21

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    Just what I needed. Thanks for your hard work!

    EDIT: scaling does not work. When I activate scaling, all that happens is that my hud squishes. i'm at 1440*900, 60hz, windowed mode, debug and console on if that makes any difference.
    Last edited by boogerlad; August 26th, 2009 at 12:36 AM.

  8. #28
    InnerGoat killed my dakimakura waifu because I didn't post my desk :( jcap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4,193

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    I just wanted to post something extra.

    This release comes with an updated version of the HEK. It expands on Kornman's previous three releases which unlocked many features not included in the official HEK. This updated HEK now supports all of the things from his unlocked HEK, PLUS support for Open Sauce. Additionally, some stability and incompatibility issues have been fixed.

    Now, even if you don't know how to code, you can still take advantage of the unlocked HEK (so many more options) and the new OS support, such as the ability to have multiple cache files to reduce the overall size of a map. Many of the OS HEK features don't even require your audience to have the OS DLL. You only need the DLL if using an Open Sauce-specific feature.

    I put together a RAR that is separate from the full SDK. The contents of this archive are really just from the "bin" folder in the SDK RAR, but I thought it might be good to break them up so someone who is looking for an unlocked HEK doesn't get confused by that download. I included the dedicated server in case someone wishes to compile an OS map and host it on a server.

    http://files.modacity.net/apps/opensauce/OS_HEK_RC1.rar

  9. #29
    Kid in the Hall Kornman00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ◕‿◕, ┌( ಠ_ಠ)┘
    Posts
    3,130

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    Quote Originally Posted by boogerlad View Post
    EDIT: scaling does not work. When I activate scaling, all that happens is that my hud squishes. i'm at 1440*900, 60hz, windowed mode, debug and console on if that makes any difference.
    I don't have a crazy widescreen to test the 4:3 hud scaling. I just tested it in game and noticed that it squished the GUI in a way that looked like it applied to widescreen folks and just gave it blind faith. I could have made a coding error when porting the Battery code, I'll have InnerGoat test it later.

  10. #30
    show up throw up Ganon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,144

    Re: Open Sauce Update #2 (RC)

    link does not work

    e: now it does
    Last edited by Ganon; August 26th, 2009 at 03:31 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •