+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

  1. #1
    Junior Member SilentJacket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    I am alive?
    Posts
    21
    SilentJacket is on a distinguished road

    [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    Took a while, but I finally did it:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?r75l4tais39yomf

    Installation:


    1) unzip the package, rt click on the icon, and select "show packaged content"

    2) click on "wineskin" and select "install software", then "choose setup executable"

    3) install CE like you normally would (it will ask you what executable should be the main program at the end)

    4) exit out of everything, and double click the icon

    Inside the package should be a shortcut to the maps folder, so that you can swap out map files quickly

    let me know what you think!



    I can't get OS to install from the Mac partition, but I'm going to try and see if I can copy a pre-installed version into the wrapper



    Known issues:

    -DO NOT run from full screen, it can cause the game to crash
    -There is mouse lag, the severity of which depends on the processing power of your rig
    --I use a Geforce 650M 1024MB, and it works just fine with everything set to max
    ooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Amit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malden
    Posts
    8,164
    Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    So you can connect to regular CE servers with this?
    Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    Junior Member SilentJacket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    I am alive?
    Posts
    21
    SilentJacket is on a distinguished road

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    yeah, everything works as it should

    just don't try fullscreen >.<
    ooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    Diehard Fan STLRamsFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    A house
    Posts
    1,564
    STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    Think you may have FINALLY given me a way to play the frecking game! Gonna try this out and will report back later.


    Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    Diehard Fan STLRamsFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    A house
    Posts
    1,564
    STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    I'm having a problem. On Lion with a Macbook pro and I managed to load up the install screen but clicking install doesn't work. Meaning clicking that button doesn't do a thing. Web conntection doesn't work either, but the top three buttons work fine.:\


    Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    Junior Member SilentJacket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    I am alive?
    Posts
    21
    SilentJacket is on a distinguished road

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    that's strange... It works fine on 10.8.3

    I'll look into that, could be compatibility issues

    also, what are your comp specs?

    old macs are pretty poor for gaming
    ooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    Reply With Quote

  7. #7
    Amit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malden
    Posts
    8,164
    Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute Amit has a reputation beyond repute

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by STLRamsFan View Post
    I'm having a problem. On Lion with a Macbook pro and I managed to load up the install screen but clicking install doesn't work. Meaning clicking that button doesn't do a thing. Web conntection doesn't work either, but the top three buttons work fine.:\
    Hmm. I'm also on Lion, but I haven't tried it yet. Fresh install from yesterday so I'll download it and see what happens. Hope my i7-2620M is good enough to reduce that input lag. I also have the latest version of Parallels Desktop, so I'll be able to test the performance of that versus this package.
    Last edited by Amit; April 8th, 2013 at 06:26 PM.
    Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    Diehard Fan STLRamsFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    A house
    Posts
    1,564
    STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 4.29.39 PM.png
Views:	1179
Size:	471.7 KB
ID:	3188

    This is what I'm getting on the install screen. As far as specs go:

    MacBook Pro 2011 Lion
    Version 10.7.5
    Processor 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5
    Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB

    I would think my graphics card would at least allow me to play it somewhat decently. I've actually been able to get past that screen before on Wineskin but always got stuck since I was missing something (something fixable but was too lazy to do it and the lack of a chat box made me not want to do it).


    Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Earth, Near The Sun, Milky Way, Universe
    Posts
    8
    Jazzyboy1 is on a distinguished road

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    Isn't this kinda illegal? Especially uploading it here.
    Pretty sure there's some kind of contract between Halomaps and Gearbox to allow Halomaps to host CE. :/
    Reply With Quote

  10. #10
    Diehard Fan STLRamsFan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    A house
    Posts
    1,564
    STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute STLRamsFan has a reputation beyond repute

    Re: [Release] Halo Custom Edition for Mac

    This isn't allowing you to play the game for free, this is merely allowing you to play it on the Mac. That's it, so it's perfectly fine. Still need the CD key and everything that is normally required.

    Speaking of which, anyone else having the same issue that I'm having or even figured out a fix? :\


    Reply With Quote

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts