Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need help with making bitmaps

  1. #1
    The Boss cheezdue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,200

    Need help with making bitmaps

    i downloaded some bitmaps from halomaps.org for halo 2. So was all happy that i would make more variety of the map with differrent bitmaps. So i applied the materials and then i exported to h2 editor. Then when i compiled and lighted my map,i ran sapien. Turns out that my bitmaps didnt show up and this gay lil fruity colors came up ALL OVER MY MAP. So anyone can help?
    Reply With Quote

  2. #2
    Senior Member Vicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Up there...
    Posts
    874

    Re: Need help with making bitmaps

    Save as tif if they weren't already, compile them from the launcher, put them in your shaders. Looking in the help may save you a lot of questions too...
    Reply With Quote

  3. #3
    In a galaxy far far away beele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    743

    Re: Need help with making bitmaps

    To use bitmaps in your map.
    • Put your tiff files in "Halo 2 Map Editor\data\scenarios\bitmaps". Under a new folder you will need to create. (for example create a new folder named "test").
    • Open the halo 2 map editor and go to the bitmap creation tab.
    • Select one of the files you want to convert (It will convert all the available files in the folder). Now click convert image.
    • Let the program convert the files (if any errors, make sure that your tiff files have the right dimensions).
    • The tool will place the converted files in "Halo 2 Map Editor\tags\scenarios\bitmaps\test\" (the files will be in the .bitmap file type).
    • Now you will need to create shaders for the bitmaps you just created: Open guerilla and click on "file" and select "new" and then pick shader. It will now create an empty shader file.
    • You will need to edit your shader now. First pick a shader template you find suitable for the thing you have in mind.
    • Further fill in the shader (once you select a shader template, it will give you more options).
    • Save your shader in a new folder (for example shader_test and name the shader testshader) in "Halo 2 Map Editor\tags\scenarios\shaders".
    • Now you will need to edit your shader collections file (located in Halo 2 Map Editor\tags\scenarios\shaders). You will need to open it with notepad (A small part of the file is under here)
    ; <- this character indicates a comment, blank lines are okay too
    ;
    ; each shader collection is a named directory that the environment importing process
    ; knows to look in for shaders - each line in this file has the format
    ;
    ; abbreviation tag directory
    ;
    ; do not remove this first entry, it specifies the default place to look
    * scenarios\shaders
    ; ========== general-purpose shaders (invisible collision geometry, etc)
    g scenarios\shaders\generic
    n scenarios\shaders\nature
    m scenarios\shaders\multi
    shared scenarios\shaders\shared\shaders
    ui scenarios\shaders\ui
    mainmenu scenarios\shaders\ui\mainmenu
    ; ========== forerunner shaders
    f scenarios\shaders\forerunner
    f_if scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\floors
    f_ig scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\glass
    f_il scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\lights
    f_im scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\metals
    f_it scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\tech

    ; ========== my shaders
    t scenarios\shaders\shader_test

    ; ========== covenant shaders
    c scenarios\shaders\covenant
    c_mm scenarios\shaders\covenant\military\metals
    c_mt scenarios\shaders\covenant\military\tech
    ; ========== human shaders
    h scenarios\shaders\human
    h_um scenarios\shaders\human\urban\metals
    h_ug scenarios\shaders\human\urban\glass
    h_ugrnd scenarios\shaders\human\urban\ground
    h_up scenarios\shaders\human\urban\pavers

    Something like the red you need to add to the file. After you made that change, save the file.
    • Now you will need to properly set up your materials in 3dsmax.
      For every material you will need to use the appropriate linkage or the tools will not understand what shader you are using.
      For example: a new material (with ID|Name|Submaterial). Click on the button which at the top states submaterial. Max will now open a new dialog in the material editor. At the top next to standard, you have a textbox, there you'll need to put your name. Like t testshader (the one I made in this example) or f_im flat_dark_scratchy (a default shader). The t you put in front is the code you added in the shader collections file which refers to "scenarios\shaders\shader_test" and behind the t you just put the filename of the shader in this case being "testshader".
    • I assume you now the rest (exporting and compiling)
    Hope this helps a little. (copied from my other post)
    Reply With Quote

  4. #4
    The Boss cheezdue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,200

    Re: Need help with making bitmaps

    Quote Originally Posted by beele View Post
    • Now you will need to edit your shader collections file (located in Halo 2 Map Editor\tags\scenarios\shaders). You will need to open it with notepad (A small part of the file is under here)
    ; <- this character indicates a comment, blank lines are okay too
    ;
    ; each shader collection is a named directory that the environment importing process
    ; knows to look in for shaders - each line in this file has the format
    ;
    ; abbreviation tag directory
    ;
    ; do not remove this first entry, it specifies the default place to look
    * scenarios\shaders
    ; ========== general-purpose shaders (invisible collision geometry, etc)
    g scenarios\shaders\generic
    n scenarios\shaders\nature
    m scenarios\shaders\multi
    shared scenarios\shaders\shared\shaders
    ui scenarios\shaders\ui
    mainmenu scenarios\shaders\ui\mainmenu
    ; ========== forerunner shaders
    f scenarios\shaders\forerunner
    f_if scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\floors
    f_ig scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\glass
    f_il scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\lights
    f_im scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\metals
    f_it scenarios\shaders\forerunner\industrial\tech

    ; ========== my shaders
    t scenarios\shaders\shader_test

    ; ========== covenant shaders
    c scenarios\shaders\covenant
    c_mm scenarios\shaders\covenant\military\metals
    c_mt scenarios\shaders\covenant\military\tech
    ; ========== human shaders
    h scenarios\shaders\human
    h_um scenarios\shaders\human\urban\metals
    h_ug scenarios\shaders\human\urban\glass
    h_ugrnd scenarios\shaders\human\urban\ground
    h_up scenarios\shaders\human\urban\pavers

    Something like the red you need to add to the file. After you made that change, save the file.
    i got lost in that part...I dont really understand it
    Reply With Quote

  5. #5
    In a galaxy far far away beele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    743

    Re: Need help with making bitmaps

    Fist you will need to open your shaders collections file (Located in C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo 2 Map Editor\tags\scenarios\shaders\). Open this with notepad, and then make the necessary adjustments like described in my first post.

    Or you can put your shaders in an already existing folder, and use that prefix in max, then there is no need to edit your shader collections file.
    Reply With Quote

  6. #6
    The Boss cheezdue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,200

    Re: Need help with making bitmaps

    ok thanks
    Reply With Quote

  7. #7

    Re: Need help with making bitmaps

    Quote Originally Posted by beele View Post
    Fist you will need to open your shaders collections file (Located in C:\Program Files\Microsoft Games\Halo 2 Map Editor\tags\scenarios\shaders\). Open this with notepad, and then make the necessary adjustments like described in my first post.

    Or you can put your shaders in an already existing folder, and use that prefix in max, then there is no need to edit your shader collections file.
    Please note that you won't be able to save the shaders_collection file if it's properties are set to read only. To fix this right click on the file and click on properties and then uncheck read only.
    Reply With Quote

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: Need help with making bitmaps

    Is there some place where someone might've hosted some shaders based on already existing bitmaps? I tried making a street_straight one...didn't work out.
    Reply With Quote

  9. #9
    The Boss cheezdue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,200

    Re: Need help with making bitmaps

    hah! i finally made the shaders!!! thanks for the help guys
    Last edited by cheezdue; February 17th, 2008 at 08:30 PM.
    Reply With Quote

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •